Getting started with your Business plan

If you signed up for a Business plan, you might wonder what you can do now that hasn't been possible before. Here's an explanation of all the features you've unlocked by purchasing a Datawrapper Business plan. (Find all our pricing options here.)
If you haven't used Datawrapper at all so far: Welcome! Make sure to check out our A first tour through Datawrapper article first.
Let's see what's new for you:
Contents
- Waterfall and Dual-Axis chart types
- Restrict visualization types, features, and basemaps
- Read-only and no-publish members in specific teams
- 1 year edit history
- Priority support
- Removed Datawrapper attribution
- Managing user licences
- PDF and SVG export
- Automatic publishing of additional images
- Add custom fields to the Datawrapper editor
Waterfall and Dual-Axis chart types
Unlocked with the Business plan

On the Business plan, you unlocked two new chart types: Waterfall charts and dual-axis charts.
Waterfall charts are ideal when you want to**communicate changes clearly**, whether over time (e.g. revenue changes per month), or as a breakdown across categories (e.g. staffing changes across departments). Learn more about waterfall charts in our announcement post.
Dual-axis charts let you compare two metrics in a single chart, even when they cover vastly different y-axis ranges — like 0–100% and 150,000–200,000 units sold. They’re great for comparing growth over time: when one metric goes up, what happens to the other? Learn more about dual-axis charts in our announcement post.
Restrict visualization types, features, and basemaps
Unlocked with the Business plan

Rules let you restrict the use of some visualization features, basemaps, or visualization types for people in either your whole workspace or in a specific team. You can do so in the Rules settings of either your workspace or a specific team.
Read-only and no-publish members in specific teams
Unlocked with the Business plan
No matter which plan you're on, you can change edit permissions of your workspace members – meaning, you can decide who should be able to edit visualizations and who can just view and duplicate them. But with the Business plan, you unlocked fine-grained permissions:
You can give people read-only access — meaning they can view and duplicate visualizations but not change them — in specific teams instead of across the whole workspace. This is useful, for example, if you want to set up a team with shared templates that almost nobody in your organization should be able to edit, but everyone should be able to duplicate to another team or their private space.
With publish permissions, you can allow people in your workspace or teams to edit visualizations, but prevent them from (re)publishing them.
1 year edit history
Unlocked with the Business plan

As you’re making edits to all your visualization, Datawrapper automatically keeps storing new versions of your chart, map, or table. You can access old versions of your visualizations in the Edit history. On your Business plan, edit history goes back a full year (as opposed to 30 days on the Free plan, 90 days on the Pro plan, and infinite on the Enterprise plan).
Priority support
Unlocked with the Business plan
Our support team is always happy to help you at support@datawrapper.de, no matter the plan you're on. If you're on a Business plan, we will treat your email with priority.
If you upgraded from the Free plan, then the following Pro plan features that are included in your Business plan will also be new to you:
Removed Datawrapper attribution

Like on the Pro plan, one of the first things you'll notice is that the little "Created with Datawrapper" attribution at the bottom of each visualization is gone from every new visualization you create. Now, no matter where you embed or show your Datawrapper visualizations, no one will know which tool you used to create them. (Note that visualizations you published on the Free plan will have to be republished to remove the attribution.)
Managing user licences
You can use the Business plan all by yourself – but more likely, you want to collaborate with others. As the admin of your workspace, you can add and remove users to it whenever needed. Here are some helpful links:
👉 How to manage user licenses, an article that answer lots of questions you might have
👉 The Members page in your workspace settings shows you who's currently using a license
To make the most of your Business license, you may also want to revisit the concepts that apply to every plan:
👉 Create as many teams as you need in your workspace for a perfect workflow, set them to public (=discoverable by any workspace member) or private, and invite different people to those teams.
👉 Give the invited people different roles (admin, manager, member, or guest) to control who of them can manage your workspace or teams.
👉 Control who can edit visualizations and who can't with edit permissions. Note that read-only users don't count towards the user licenses.
PDF and SVG export

Every member of your workspace can now export all their visualizations as not only PNG, but also PDF and SVG in step 4: Publish & Embed.
This has advantages: While PNGs are raster images and great for social media and presentations, all PDFs and SVGs you download from Datawrapper are completely vector-based and can be edited in vector graphics software like Adobe Illustrator or Inkscape.
Note that this works for maps, too: You can edit the map layer of choropleth, symbol, and locator maps after downloading them.
Automatic publishing of additional images

With image publishing, you can configure Datawrapper to automatically generate PNGs, PDFs, or SVGs of your visualizations whenever you hit publish – for fallback images (e.g. for RSS feeds), social media, print, etc.
Add custom fields to the Datawrapper editor

Last but not least, your Business plan gives you the ability to add custom fields to the Datawrapper editor that help you to simplify your workflow and to let you create more customized visualizations. Custom fields basically let you can add information to all your team chart, maps & tables. After you defined them in your workspace or team settings, they will appear in step 3: Visualize > Annotate, below the part where you (or your team members) give your visualization a title, description, source, byline, etc.
We hope you enjoy the benefits of the Business plan in your workspace. Do let us know if you have any questions. We're happy to help at support@datawrapper.de.